Channel: The Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1378

Post-Dispatch Wins Pulitzer for Ferguson Photos

April 20, 2015

New York Times honored for coverage of Ebola outbreak; Tampa Bay Times finds "bicycling while black" targeting; can Comcast-Time Warner Cable merger proposal be saved?; Iran charges Washington Post journalist with espionage; in Iraq, Islamic State exacts heavy toll on journalists; Michael Eric Dyson takedown of Cornel West is personal; half of whites see no racial disparity in death penalty; NPR Ebola stories, "Latino USA," Afropop win Peabodys; nominate a J-educator who has helped diversity (4/20/15)

Returning April 27, barring breaking news

New York Times Honored for Coverage of Ebola Outbreak

Tampa Bay Times Finds "Bicycling While Black" Targeting

Can Comcast-Time Warner Cable Merger Proposal Be Saved?

Iran Charges Washington Post Journalist With Espionage

In Iraq, Islamic State Exacts Heavy Toll on Journalists

Michael Eric Dyson Takedown of Cornel West Is Personal

NPR Ebola Stories, "Latino USA," Afropop Win Peabodys

"The NPR News Reporting From The Frontlines: The Ebola Outbreak coverage has been honored with a George Foster Peabody Award, one year after the public media organization led early and exceptionally deep coverage of the infectious outbreak in West Africa,"the network announced on Monday.

"NPR's Latino USA is also a winner in the Radio/Podcast category for Gangs, Murder and Migration in Honduras, an episode that examined the many reasons driving contemporary migration from Honduras, a country in crisis.

In addition, "Vice News was honored for two stories: one on a Chicago high school of high-risk students and the other coverage of ISIS in Iraq and Syria,"Luke McCord reported for Broadcasting & Cable.

". . . CNN nabbed a Peabody Award for its coverage of treatment delays in Veterans Administration hospitals and the kidnapping of Nigerian schoolgirls by Boko Haram. . . ."

An institutional award is to be presented to Afropop Worldwide.

In the entertainment category, "Jane the Virgin" on the CW network was among the winners. "Immaculately conceived, it's a smart, self-aware telenovela that knows when and how to wink at itself," the judges said. "Its Latina lead, Gina Rodriguez, is incandescent." 

Documentary, public service, education and children’s programming winners are to be announced on Thursday.

Nominate a J-Educator Who Has Helped Diversity

The Association of Opinion Journalists, formerly the National Conference of Editorial Writers, annually grants a Barry Bingham Sr. Fellowship — actually an award — "in recognition of an educator's outstanding efforts to encourage minority students in the field of journalism." The educator should be at the college level.

Nominations, now being accepted for the 2015 award, should consist of a statement about why you believe your nominee is deserving.

The final selection will be made by the AOJ Foundation board and announced in time for the annual symposium Nov.14-15 at the Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Fla., when the presentation will be made.

Since 2000, the recipient has been awarded an honorarium of $1,000 to be used to "further work in progress or begin a new project."

Past winners include James Hawkins, Florida A&M University (1990); Larry Kaggwa, Howard University (1992); Ben Holman, University of Maryland (1996); Linda Jones, Roosevelt University, Chicago (1998); Ramon Chavez, University of Colorado, Boulder (1999); Erna Smith, San Francisco State (2000); Joseph Selden, Penn State University (2001); Cheryl Smith, Paul Quinn College (2002); Rose Richard, Marquette University (2003); Leara D. Rhodes, University of Georgia (2004); Denny McAuliffe, University of Montana (2005); Pearl Stewart, Black College Wire (2006); Valerie White, Florida A&M University (2007); Phillip Dixon, Howard University (2008); Bruce DePyssler, North Carolina Central University (2009); Sree Sreenivasan, Columbia University (2010); Yvonne Latty, New York University (2011); Michelle Johnson, Boston University (2012); Vanessa Shelton, University of Iowa (2013); and William Drummond, University of California at Berkeley (2014).

Nominations may be emailed to Richard Prince, AOJ Diversity Committee chair, richardprince (at) hotmail.com. The deadline is May 22. Please use that address only for AOJ matters.

read more

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1378

Latest Images

Trending Articles