Channel: The Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1378

Flawed Racism Claims Miss Another Problem

April 3, 2015

Should media use mug shots as the "best available photo"?; when Selena died in 1995, newsroom diversity mattered; . . . Selena's death helped launch People en Español; Seattle sports columnist Brewer joining Washington Post; nearly 90 percent of baseball announcers still white men; IRE honors joint effort on "The Real Death Valley"; in New York, Imhotep Gary Byrd loses a radio show; HHS sets up media call Tuesday on minority health; nominate a J-educator who has Helped diversity (4/3/15)

Should Media Use Mug Shots as the "Best Available Photo"?

When Selena Died in 1995, Newsroom Diversity Mattered

. . . Selena's Death Helped Launch People en Español

Seattle Sports Columnist Brewer Joining Washington Post

Nearly 90 Percent of Baseball Announcers Still White Men

IRE Honors Joint Effort on "The Real Death Valley"

In New York, Imhotep Gary Byrd Loses a Radio Show

HHS Sets Up Media Call Tuesday on Minority Health

The federal government's Office of Minority Health has scheduled a conference call for national and local media at 3 p.m. Eastern time Tuesday about National Minority Health Month.

As Lecia Bushak wrote last year for medicaldaily.com,"Minorities in the U.S. are more likely than non-Hispanic white people to develop preventable chronic diseases: African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives are twice as likely to have diabetes than whites. Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders, meanwhile, are three times more likely to be diagnosed with diabetes. . . ."

Journalists may contact the office at <omh (at) cms.hhs.gov> or <OMHMedia (at) hhs.gov>.

Nominate a J-Educator Who Has Helped Diversity

The Association of Opinion Journalists, formerly the National Conference of Editorial Writers, annually grants a Barry Bingham Sr. Fellowship — actually an award — "in recognition of an educator's outstanding efforts to encourage minority students in the field of journalism." The educator should be at the college level.

Nominations, now being accepted for the 2015 award, should consist of a statement about why you believe your nominee is deserving.

The final selection will be made by the AOJ Foundation board and announced in time for the annual symposium Nov.14-15, when the presentation will be made.

Since 2000, the recipient has been awarded an honorarium of $1,000 to be used to "further work in progress or begin a new project."

Past winners include James Hawkins, Florida A&M University (1990); Larry Kaggwa, Howard University (1992); Ben Holman, University of Maryland (1996); Linda Jones, Roosevelt University, Chicago (1998); Ramon Chavez, University of Colorado, Boulder (1999); Erna Smith, San Francisco State (2000); Joseph Selden, Penn State (2001); Cheryl Smith, Paul Quinn College (2002); Rose Richard, Marquette University (2003); Leara D. Rhodes, University of Georgia (2004); Denny McAuliffe, University of Montana (2005); Pearl Stewart, Black College Wire (2006); Valerie White, Florida A&M University (2007); Phillip Dixon, Howard University (2008); Bruce DePyssler, North Carolina Central University (2009); Sree Sreenivasan, Columbia University (2010); Yvonne Latty, New York University (2011); Michelle Johnson, Boston University (2012); Vanessa Shelton, University of Iowa (2013); and William Drummond, University of California at Berkeley (2104).

Nominations may be emailed to Richard Prince, AOJ Diversity Committee chair, richardprince (at) hotmail.com. The deadline is May 22. Please use that address only for AOJ matters.

read more

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1378

Latest Images

Trending Articles

Latest Images